Avery Dennison Corp false 0000008818 0000008818 2021-04-22 2021-04-22 0000008818 us-gaap:CommonStockMember 2021-04-22 2021-04-22 0000008818 us-gaap:SeniorNotesMember 2021-04-22 2021-04-22



Washington, D.C. 20549



Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

April 22, 2021

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported)




(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)










(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)


207 Goode Avenue



Glendale, California





(Address of principal executive offices)


    (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code (626) 304-2000



(Former name or former address, if changed since last report.)

Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):

[ ] Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)

[ ] Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)

[ ] Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))

[ ] Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:


Title of each class


Trading Symbol(s)


Name of each exchange on which registered

Common stock, $1 par value   AVY   New York Stock Exchange
1.25% Senior Notes due 2025   AVY25   Nasdaq Stock Market

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an emerging growth company as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act of 1933 (§230.405 of this chapter) or Rule 12b-2 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (§240.12b-2 of this chapter).

Emerging growth company

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act. ☐

Section 5 — Corporate Governance and Management

Item 5.07 Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

(a) & (b) Avery Dennison Corporation (the “Company”) held its virtual Annual Meeting of Stockholders (the “Annual Meeting”) on April 22, 2021. A total of 75,857,135 shares of the Company’s common stock, representing approximately 91% of the 83,019,456 shares outstanding and eligible to vote as of the February 22, 2021 record date for the meeting set by the Company’s Board of Directors (the “Board”), were represented in person or by proxy at the Annual Meeting, constituting a quorum. At the Annual Meeting, the Company’s stockholders (i) elected Bradley Alford, Anthony Anderson, Mark Barrenechea, Mitchell Butier, Ken Hicks, Andres Lopez, Patrick Siewert, Julia Stewart and Martha Sullivan to the Board for a one-year term expiring at the 2022 Annual Meeting of Stockholders; (ii) approved, on an advisory basis, the Company’s executive compensation; and (iii) ratified the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for fiscal year 2021.

The final results of the voting for the nine director nominees named in the Company’s proxy statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on March 5, 2021 (the “2021 Proxy Statement”) were as follows:


Director Nominee           For             Against             Abstain            




Bradley Alford

              70,449,457                 1,740,870                 192,194                 3,474,614  

Anthony Anderson

              69,577,199                 2,578,710                 226,612                 3,474,614  

Mark Barrenechea

              45,906,547                 26,247,950                 228,024                 3,474,614  

Mitchell Butier

              67,586,246                 4,031,857                 764,418                 3,474,614  

Ken Hicks

              70,424,715                 1,742,029                 215,777                 3,474,614  

Andres Lopez

              71,735,523                 448,405                 198,593                 3,474,614  

Patrick Siewert

              61,703,952                 10,485,932                 192,637                 3,474,614  

Julia Stewart

              68,677,872                 3,515,525                 189,124                 3,474,614  

Martha Sullivan

              71,107,189                 1,082,693                 192,639                 3,474,614  

The final results of the voting for proposals 2 and 3 described in the 2021 Proxy Statement were as follows:


    Proposal         For             Against               Abstain              



Approval, on an advisory basis, of the Company’s executive compensation                   69,124,333                   3,069,775                   188,413                   3,474,614
Ratification of appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for fiscal year 2021                   70,748,125                   4,397,691                   711,319                  


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Date: April 27, 2021     By:  

/s/ Ignacio J. Walker


Name: Ignacio J. Walker

Title:   Vice President and Chief Legal Officer